Hanukkah

2 replies to this topic

Lise441

• Members
  • 162 posts
Did anyone celebrate this year, or I should say still celebrating? I'm Jewish by default (my mother) but I'm Catholic and this year I decided to participate in the festivites of the holiday. Right now it's a big learning process as I don't remember any of the Judaism I was taught as a child :oops: I guess it's kind of hard for me because this time of year because I have religious obligations for both religions. I doubt anyone else has the same problem, but who knows :roll: Happy Hanukkah!
Sometimes you stand on the edge of a cliff and you jump. You jump because you're tired of being scared. Sometimes you jump just to feel the fall

kahloeyes

• Members
  • 43 posts
Hi Lise441,

well, LOL, we celebrate both in our home (husband is Jewish) and we also pay tribute to Soltice because my second oldest daughter's bio father is Native American, and I studied a littile, Celtic beliefs, etc.

But when I first begun to celebrate and learning about Hanukkah, I was surprised at how few stores actually sold any items centered around Hanukkah, excluding Jewish markets. I wanted to set up something special for my husband and he has a beautiful Menorah, so I do one side of the livingroom with our tree, Christmas decor in one window, and the other side I set up the Hanukkah table, and in the window I hang crystal stars, angels, and snowflakes, and in the sill, I throw down that white filling (that you use in pillows sold in craft shops) with small branches (painted silver white, a gllittery type) and then I hang white lights around the window...and on the table under the window is the Menorah and the glass wear, a glass bowl for the dreidels and I found these really cute little cheese servers with Hanukkah decor handles (Stars of David and Dreidels)-- it really is pretty when its all done.