how can i help a fuzzy one adjust?

3 replies to this topic

ashleigh

• Posting Members (3 or more)
  • 187 posts
i am having trouble with a pup (he's an adult, but a pup to me). he was originally a dump off and started hanging around a friend's house, but they couldn't keep him, so i say bring him over. we got him in the truck and the poor thing's heart was racing, i guess he was thinking 'here we go again'. we put a collar and leash on him to try and let him walk around and get to know the place and the other pups. he slipped the collar like it wasn't there. he will follow me, but won't let me get close enough to pet him. my friend said that he looked and acted like he was mistreated when he first started hanging around the place. any help would be appreciated. thanks

phoenix99

• Members
  • 65 posts
Hey, I'm no expert but I do love dogs and have one (at the moment) myself.

Your dog in his past could have been mistreated previously, or could just not be used to human contact. He could have been stray for a long time, or else his original owners may have just stuck him in the yard and not interacted with him. Either way, having such a fearful dog can be dangerous if he ever feels threatened enough to bite.

My advice is to just be gentle, take things slowly. Dogs don't normally take well to sensory overload. Let him get used to your house, and you first. That can take a few weeks, or even a couple months depending on everything that has happened to him before. Then, socialization will be important, letting him see that situations aren't going to hurt him (loud noises, traffic, people, other dogs). Have people over to your house, one or two at a time, to meet him, and don't force him into a situation, but let him sniff it out on his own. Having anything bad happen to him while he is getting comfy can make all your progress backtrack. So, go easy.